About Us

The School of Sustainability at Kiel University was established in 2011. It brings together more than 75 academic and research staff from five faculties:


Here you find an overview of the module coordinators of Kiel School of Sustainability and the involved institutes. Click on the links to be redirected to the individual websites for information (e.g., on research foci, projects, master's theses topics):

Department of Geography:

Geography and Media: Prof. Corves

Cultural Geography Workgroup: Prof. Dr. F. Dünckmann

Urban and Population Geography:   Prof. Dr. R. Wehrhahn

Landscape Ecology and Geo-Information (GIS):   Prof. Dr. R. Duttmann

Economic Geography: Prof. Dr. R. Hassink

Earth Observation and Modelling: Prof. Dr. N. Oppelt

Coastal Risks and Sea-Level Rise: Prof. Dr. A. Vafeidis 

  Social Dynamics in Coastal and Marine Areas: Prof. Dr. Silja Klepp 

Institute for Natural Resource Conservation:

Hydrology and Water Resources Management: Prof. Dr. N. Fohrer

Landscape Ecology: Prof. Dr. T. Diekötter & Prof. Dr. T. Donath

 Ecosystem Management: Prof. Dr. Felix Müller

         Institute for Ecosystem Research

Ecosystem Research and Geoarchaeology: Prof. Dr. H.-R. Bork

Environmental History and Environmental Archives: Prof. Dr. I. Unkel

Geobotany: Prof. Dr. A. Erfmeier

Applied Ecology: Prof. Dr. J. Schrautzer, PD Dr. M. Trepel

                  Department of Economics:

Environmental and Resource Economics:  Prof. Dr. K. Rehdanz

Economics and Ethics: Prof. Dr. M. Khadjavi

                   Kiel Institute for the World Economy:

Poverty Reduction, Equity, and Development: Prof. Dr. R. Thiele

                  Department of Agricultural Economics:

Landwirtschaftliche Betriebslehre und Produktionsökonomie: Prof. Dr. U. Latacz-Lohmann

                   Institute of Plant Nutrition and Soil Science:

Plant Nutrition: Prof. Dr. K.-H. Mühling


Environmental Philosophy and Ethics: Prof. Dr. K. Ott

                  Research and Technology Centre, West Coast:

ECOLAB - Group Marine Animal Ecology: Prof. Dr. S. Garthe

CORELAB: Prof. Dr. R. Mayerle

                   Zoological Institute

Working Group Limnology:  Prof. Dr. H. Brendelberger

Research Group Evolutionary Ecology and Genetics: Prof.Dr. H. Schulenburg

                  Botanical Institute

Ökophysiologie der Pflanzen: Prof. Dr. W. Bilger

                Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht: Centre for Materials and Coastal Research

Ecosystem Modelling: Prof. Dr. K. Wirtz